The New User Defaults module enables Admins to set default settings related to Order Approval, User Grouping, and Points Programs that will apply to all new Site Users in the Store.
The Order Approval, User Grouping, and Points Program settings set here will become defaults that can be overridden when adding a new Site User in Invite or Create a New User. If Sign Up is enabled in Site Login Settings, enabling customers to create their own accounts in the Store, the settings in New User Defaults will apply to Site Users who sign up on their own.
[Screenshot of New User Defaults page]
Order Approval Settings
If Order Approval is enabled in the Store, an Order Approval Settings block will appear. If the Assign Users to Approvers method is selected in Order Approval Settings, select the default Approver to whom orders placed by new Site Users will be sent for approval. If the Send all New Users’ orders for Approval? toggle is set to Yes, every order placed by new Site Users will be sent for Approval, regardless of the dollar amount or payment method used.
[Detail Screenshot of Order Approval Settings block with toggle and dropdown]
If Login Before Browse is selected in Site Login Settings, and if Product/Category Visibility User Groups, Pricing User Groups, or multiple payment methods exist for your Store, a User Grouping section with three dropdowns will appear.
Set the User Groups to which new Site Users will be added by selecting User Groups groups from the dropdowns in the block. These three dropdowns correspond to the three types of User Groups:
- Product/Category Visibility User Groups allow some Site Users to have access to specific products and categories, and other Site Users to have access to different products and categories. Ungrouped Site Users will have visibility of all products and categories. Manage these User Groups in Product Visibility User Groups.
- Payment Method User Groups allow some Site Users to have access to one or more payment methods at checkout, and other Site Users to have access to different payment method(s) at checkout. Ungrouped Site Users will have access to all enabled payment methods. Manage these User Groups in Payment Method User Groups.
- Product Pricing User Groups allow Some Site Users to see and pay specific product prices, and other Site Users to pay different product prices. Ungrouped Site Users will see the default product pricing pulled from the Platform. Manage these User Groups in Product Pricing User Groups
[Detail screenshot of User Grouping section]
If Points are enabled as a payment method in Points Programs, an expandable section will appear. When expanded by clicking the arrow on the left-hand side of the Points Program section, a table will display, listing all of the Points Programs in the Store.
Use the checkboxes in the Add New Users column to automatically place any new Site Users in the Store into one or more Points Programs. Use the fields in the Default Points Balance column to assign a certain number of points to new Site Users in each Program where they are added. This way, when a new Site User signs up or logs in to the Store for the first time, they can already have points in their account that they can spend.
When you’ve finished making your changes, click the Save button.